Stations of the Cross – 2.00pm Good Friday

Cross 862920_89506811

The Stations of the Cross, also known as The Way of the Cross, are a way to pray and meditate on Christ’s sacrifice for us. It is divided into fourteen stations from the time He was condemned to his burial. 

First Station – Jesus is condemned to Death
Second Station – Jesus is made to Carry His Cross
Third Station – Jesus falls the first time under His Cross
Fourth Station – Jesus meets His Mother
Fifth Station – Simon the Cyrene helps Jesus carry His Cross
Sixth Station – Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
Seventh Station – Jesus falls the second time
Eighth Station – Jesus speaks to the daughters of Jerusalem
Ninth Station – Jesus falls the third time
Tenth Station – Jesus is stripped of His garments
Eleventh Station – Jesus is nailed to the Cross
Twelfth Station – Jesus dies on the Cross
Thirteenth Station – Jesus is taken down from the Cross
Fourteenth Station – Jesus is buried in the tomb

An optional Fifteenth Station – Jesus is raised from the dead which commemorates the Resurrection may be added following the season of Lent.